W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-discuss@w3.org > December 1999

RE: HTTP Extensions Framework status?

From: Josh Cohen (Exchange) <joshco@Exchange.Microsoft.com>
Date: Tue, 7 Dec 1999 15:45:02 -0800
Message-ID: <BFF90FB6CF66D111BF4F0000F840DB850E75DBBC@LASSIE>
To: Keith Moore <moore@cs.utk.edu>, Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <frystyk@microsoft.com>
Cc: "Yaron Goland (Exchange)" <yarong@Exchange.Microsoft.com>, "'Patrik Faltstrom'" <paf@swip.net>, "'Harald Tveit Alvestrand'" <Harald@Alvestrand.no>, Scott Lawrence <lawrence@agranat.com>, discuss@apps.ietf.org, "Josh Cohen (Exchange)" <joshco@Exchange.Microsoft.com>, "Peter Ford (Exchange)" <peterf@Exchange.Microsoft.com>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Keith Moore [mailto:moore@cs.utk.edu]
> Sent: Wednesday, December 08, 1999 9:29 AM
> To: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen
> Cc: Keith Moore; Yaron Goland (Exchange); 'Patrik Faltstrom'; 'Harald
> Tveit Alvestrand'; Scott Lawrence; discuss@apps.ietf.org; Josh Cohen
> (Exchange); Peter Ford (Exchange)
> Subject: Re: HTTP Extensions Framework status? 
> 
> 
> Open and timely discussion seems entirely appropriate, and I 
> apologize 
> for my poor handling of this document.  But I think that the 
> author of 
> an individual subimssion needs to demonstrate both technical quality 
> and widespread community support for the document, and that 
> objections 
> during Last Call need to be taken as potential evidence of a lack of 
> consensus.  In the absence of clear community consensus 
> support for the 
> document to be on the standards track, we need to take the 
> conservative 
> view, and this means not approving the document as a standard.
>
Call me ignorant, but my understanding was that last call comments
were to be delivered openly to the WG or submitter.  
Henrik, have you seen the comments that keith is referring to?
I haven't.  It seems that there wasnt a good opportunity for 
open discussion on the comments.
 
> Keith
> 
Received on Tuesday, 7 December 1999 19:20:57 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 23 March 2006 20:11:26 GMT