W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > July to September 2001

RE: Legal operations on members of a Baseline Collection...

From: Peter Raymond <Peter.Raymond@merant.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Sep 2001 14:45:35 +0100
Message-ID: <20CF1CE11441D411919C0008C7C5A13B02969CA2@stalmail.eu.merant.com>
To: "Clemm, Geoff" <gclemm@rational.com>, ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Hi,

The Baseline Collection is a collection so there is nothing to stop you
doing a PUT on that collection.  Unless we explicitly have a precondition
for PUT that says you cannot put to a baseline collection.
Same for destination for a MOVE or COPY.

Regards,
--
Peter Raymond - MERANT
Principal Architect (PVCS)
Tel: +44 (0)1727 813362
Fax: +44 (0)1727 869804
mailto:Peter.Raymond@merant.com
WWW: http://www.merant.com



-----Original Message-----
From: Clemm, Geoff [mailto:gclemm@rational.com]
Sent: 27 September 2001 14:00
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Subject: RE: Legal operations on members of a Baseline Collection...


   From: Peter Raymond [mailto:Peter.Raymond@merant.com]

   The Baseline Collection captures the state of resources that were
   in the Baseline-Controlled Collection when the Baseline was created
   or when the Version-Controlled Configuration checked-in.  In my
   opinion the resources in the Baseline Collection should be frozen
   (since they just capture state), but, the specification only seems
   to disallow CHECKOUT of a member of this collection.

Yes, the intent was for the dead properties and content of the
baseline collection and its members to be frozen.  We can't really say
what happens to live properties (e.g. a "last accessed time" property
could change).

   Section 12.11 defines (in precondition
   DAV:must-not-update-baseline-collection) that CHECKOUT cannot be
   done on a member of a Baseline Collection.  Shouldn't other
   operations, eg COPY, MOVE, PUT, DELETE, PROPPATCH also be prevented
   on members of a baseline collection?

Since the members of a BCC are all checked-in VCR's, the only way
they can be changed is if they are first checked-out, which is
why it is sufficient to just disallow CHECKOUT.

Cheers,
Geoff
Received on Thursday, 27 September 2001 09:47:16 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:42 GMT