W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > July to September 2001

RE: Issues/questions regarding sections 3, 4 and 5...

From: Clemm, Geoff <gclemm@rational.com>
Date: Wed, 22 Aug 2001 15:12:32 -0400
Message-ID: <3906C56A7BD1F54593344C05BD1374B103F8AB79@SUS-MA1IT01>
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Ah, the wonderful ambiguities of English ... (:-).

This thread was about deleting the "last" version in the sense of
"the only version left in the version history".  The result of this
would be a version history with no versions in it, which is not
allowed by the spec.

I believe you are referring to the "last" version in the sense
of "the one that was created most recently in a linear history".
That is totally legal to delete (assuming it is not the only
version left in the history), and having the VCR revert to the
immediately preceding version is very reasonable (although not
required by the protocol).

Cheers,
Geoff

-----Original Message-----
From: John Hall [mailto:johnhall@evergo.net]
Sent: Wednesday, August 22, 2001 1:58 PM
To: 'Clemm, Geoff'; ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Subject: RE: Issues/questions regarding sections 3, 4 and 5...




>    Reading section 5.6 it took us quite a while to decide how to
>    delete the last version from a version history.  I think the answer
>    is "you don't" you must delete the version history itself in order
>    to delete the last version.  Did we interpret this correctly?  Do
>    you think we should clarify this in the spec?


As currently implemented, my server will allow you to delete the last
version.  That version goes away and the VCR reverts to the next to last
version.

That solution works because I don't fork.

But if the consensus is to prohibit this I can prohibit it (except as a
side effect of UNCHECKOUT, though).
Received on Wednesday, 22 August 2001 15:03:10 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:42 GMT