W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > April to June 2001

RE: Deleting history

From: Clemm, Geoff <gclemm@rational.com>
Date: Wed, 13 Jun 2001 23:04:04 -0400
Message-ID: <3906C56A7BD1F54593344C05BD1374B10350A35F@SUS-MA1IT01>
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Whether or not a server supports the version-history feature,
a client that wants ensure that all versions associated with a
version-controlled resource are deleted should get a version-tree report
(or get the version history URL) before deleting the version-controlled
resource.  Otherwise, once the version-controlled resource is gone, the
client will no longer have a good way to find either the 
versions or the version-controlled resource.  (Actually, if the
server supports the workspace option, it may be able to find
that version history by finding the "corresponding" version 
controlled resource in another workspace, but there is no
guarantee that there is such a corresponding version controlled
resource.)

Cheers,
Geoff

-----Original Message-----
From: Rick Rupp [mailto:rick.rupp@merant.com]

If a server only supports version-control, how does a client delete 
version-history if that is what it wants to do? When the version-controlled 
resource is deleted the version-history associated with it is in effect 
lost on the server isn't it?
Received on Wednesday, 13 June 2001 22:58:57 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:41 GMT