W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > April to June 2001

RE: Deleting versions

From: Clemm, Geoff <gclemm@rational.com>
Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2001 16:02:41 -0400
Message-ID: <3906C56A7BD1F54593344C05BD1374B1018E242E@SUS-MA1IT01>
To: DeltaV <ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org>
The only use case this addresses is that your client has
issued a MKWORKSPACE/LOCK sequence, and that in the narrow
time interval between the completion of the MKWORKSPACE
request and the LOCK request, some other client has managed
to discover the name of your new workspace and has issued
a LOCK request that somehow gets in before yours.

I believe that not only is the likelihood of this happening
vanishingly small, but even if it does happen, your client
would just use the "that workspace is already in use
by someone else" response that it needs in case
somebody got their MKWORKSPACE request in ahead of yours. 

Cheers,
Geoff

-----Original Message-----
From: Lisa Dusseault [mailto:lisa@xythos.com]
Sent: Tuesday, June 05, 2001 12:08 PM
To: Clemm, Geoff
Cc: DeltaV
Subject: RE: Deleting versions


>
> What is the (compelling :-) use case for creating a lock-null
> resource before issuing the MKWORKSPACE request?
>

What other way would you create a workspace and guarantee that it can't be
altered by other people before you set permissions and such correctly?

Same goes for ACTIVITY.

lisa
Received on Tuesday, 5 June 2001 15:58:05 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:41 GMT