W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-charsets@w3.org > October to December 2001

Re: Registering GBK and GB18030 in the IANA charset registry

From: Bruno Haible <haible@ilog.fr>
Date: Fri, 09 Nov 2001 12:26:40 +0100 (CET)
To: Anthony Fok <anthony@thizlinux.com>
Cc: ietf-charsets@iana.org, Kevin Lau <kevin@thizlinux.com>, Fai <fai@thizlinux.com>, James Su <suzhe@turbolinux.com.cn>, Shouhua Wang <shwang@sonata.iscas.ac.cn>, Jian Wu <jwu@sonata.iscas.ac.cn>, Leon Zhang <leon@xteamlinux.com.cn>, Yu Guanghui <ygh@dlut.edu.cn>, Roger So <roger.so@sw-linux.com>, Pablo Saratxaga <pablo@mandrakesoft.com>, zhaoway <zw@debian.org>, Yu Mingjian <yumingjian@china.com>, Chen Xiangyang <chenxy@sun.ihep.ac.cn>, Dirk Meyer <dmeyer@adobe.com>, Markus Scherer <markus.scherer@jtcsv.com>, Ken Lunde <lunde@adobe.com>, li18nux2000@li18nux.org, bsd-locale@haun.org
Message-id: <15339.48496.799323.197004@honolulu.ilog.fr>
Anthony Fok writes:
> Here is a first draft for the GB18030 registration.

Looks good. One remark, though, about MIME. While GB18030 is in theory
usable with MIME (because it's ASCII compatible), the facts that

    - GB18030 characters are in unambiguous 1:1 correspondence with
      21-bit Unicode characters,
    - the GB18030 converter is somewhat big (due to the GBK table
      size),

imply that mails should better be sent in UTF-8 encoding than in
GB18030 encoding. Because then the interoperability with mailers that
don't include a GB18030 converter is increased.

Therefore I would suggest to remove the "suitable for use in MIME"
sentence.

Bruno
Received on Friday, 9 November 2001 06:28:25 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 5 June 2006 15:10:52 GMT